Board of Directors

Executive Board of Directors

Norman Thomas
  • President (2021); Vice President (2019 - 2021); Secretary (2017-2019); Board Member (2016); THS Member Since 2015

  • A.A.S Computer Application Programming; US Army Staff Sergeant (1972-1981); ADP Computer Application Programmer (Retired)

  • ​Mt. Hood Cable Regulatory Commission Finance Committee Chair (2000-present)

Bettianne Goetz
  • ​Vice President (2021); Secretary (2019 - 2021); President Emeritus (2017-2018); THS Member Since 2014

  • BA, San Diego State; MA, University of Guam; Post graduate work at Portland State

  • Elementary Classroom Teacher, Learning Disabilities Specialist, School Administrator-Reynolds School District (Retired)

  • Volunteers at Chase Me Again Thrift Store Board Member and Interlachen HOA Board Member

  • Interests include Dragon Boat Paddling team, yoga, and travel

  • ​Resident of Fairview, Oregon since 1970

Joy Photo_cropped.jpg
Joy Beldin
  • Treasurer (2021) Board Member (2018); THS Member Since 2016

  • Wilkes/Glenfair Elementary; Reynolds High School; HR Management Certification, PCC

  • 30 years as HR Manager; PDX Made In Oregon & California Closets Showroom Manager (Retired)

  • Volunteering for HOA as a  Board Member, retail volunteer for Cycle Oregon Tours, THS Volunteer since 2015

  • Resident of Portland, Troutdale, Seaside, Oregon since 1944

Jason Cawood
  • ​Secretary (2021); Board Member (2018); THS Member Since 2017

President Emeritus

Erin Janssens​ 
  • President Emeritus (2019 - 2021); Board Member (2017); THS Member Since 2006 

  • Studied at the National Fire Academy, Eastern Oregon University, Portland Community College, Mt. Hood Community College;

  • Chief, Portland Fire & Rescue (Retired)

  • Volunteers for the City of Troutdale Historic Landmarks Commission (2013-present); Red Cross Cascades Region Board Member (2014-present); Troutdale Town Center Committee (2017-present)

  • Hobbies & Interests: Dog/cat mom, hiking/biking, gardening, various artistic pursuits, home maintenance - including Old Church, Troutdale's oldest historic building.

  • Resident of Corbett since 1995 

Len Otto
  • President Emeritus (2015-2016); Board Member (1993-1995; 2011-2014); THS Member since 1990s 

  • Grew up on the Historic Columbia River Highway in Troutdale, Oregon; attended K-7th Grade at Troutdale Elementary, 8th Grade at the new Columbia View Middle School (now H.B. Lee), and Reynolds High School, 1970 (now Reynolds Middle School).

  • Portland State, BA Psychology, 1974; Portland State, MS Education, 1980s; Elementary Teacher, Kindergarten - 5th Grade at Troutdale, Fairview, and Sweetbriar Schools; Talented and Gifted (TAG) program for Reynolds School District.

  • Hobbies and interests include fishing and woodworking, especially on a lathe making platters and bowls. 

  • ​Resident of Troutdale and Gresham areas since 1952

Board Members

Sharon Nesbit
  • President Emeritus (2016-2017); Vice President (1994-1995; 2015-2016); Secretary (1968-1970); Executive Director (1990-1991); Historian (1968 to present); THS Charter Member (1968)

  • Historian; Co-Author: McMenamins Vintage Edgefield, (2002); Author: It Could Have Been Carpdale (2007) and Sunny with Occasional Tirades (2011); Columnist-Gresham Outlook Newspaper; Public Speaker

  • ​Volunteers for the City of Troutdale Historic Landmarks Commissioner, Position #3; Member of the Oregon Geographic Names Board

  • Charter Member of the Troutdale Historical Society (1968); Founding member of Zimmerman Farm Heritage Park, The Friends of the Historic Columbia River Highway, East County Historical Organization, and the Troutdale Historical Society.

  • Awarded: March of Dimes Woman of Achievement, 1998; National Federation of Press Women Sweepstakes Writing Award (twice); Troutdale Citizen of the Year (2000); and Troutdale Historical Society Preservationist Award.

  • Resident of Troutdale, Oregon since 1968

Kelly Broomall 
  • Board Member (2017); THS Member Since 2015

  • Veteran USMC: Journeyman Machinist: Boeing Industrial Engineer; Boeing - 35 years, retired

  • Community: Red Cross, School House Supplies Volunteer

  • Hobbies: Wood Worker

  • Resident of Troutdale since October 1978

Dave Ripma
  • President Emeritus (1993-2003; 2011-2014); Board Member (1991-1992; 2003-2008; 2021); THS Member since 1991

  • Patent Lawyer; Electrical Engineer 

  • ​Juris Doctor, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.

  • B.S. Electrical Engineering, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI

  • ​Volunteers for the City of Troutdale City Council, Position #1; Council President

Tim Hills photo.jpeg
Tim Hills
  • Board Member (2021); THS Member Since 2015

  • BA in History, James Madison U., at Harrisonburg, VA, 1988
    MA in Public History, Washington State U., Pullman,1993

  • Historian/History dept. head, McMenamins,1996 to present

  • Archaeological Investigations NW, historical research, 1993-96

  • THS Program Committee

  • Resident of Corbett since 2012 and previously resided in Portland since 1993

Jean Ice 
  • Board Member (2021); THS Member Since 2004 - 2020

Helen Wand
  • ​Board Member (2021); THS Member Since 2003

  • Local Author; Where the Eagles Nest


Marilee Thompson
  • Treasurer (2014 - 2021); Board Member (2014); THS Member Prior to 2003

  • BS, Washington State University

  • Double T Tax Associates, Enrolled Agent (Retired)

  • Volunteers for the City of Troutdale Parks Advisory Committee, Position #7; Troutdale Town Center Committee (2017 - present)

  • Resident of Troutdale, Oregon since 1984